화재로 소실된 배를 수리하며 그와 동시에 배를 수리하는 독을 같이 리뉴얼하여 새로운 전시 공간으로 탈바꿈 시킨 프로젝트 입니다. 로얄 뮤지엄 인 그리니치에 속해 있는 전시공간은 범선을 공중으로 띄워 배의 아름다운 용골 곡선을 그대로 관람자에게 보여줌으로써 색다른 공간감을 선사하고 있습니다.
여기에 범선과 독사이를 메우는 유리지붕은 범선을 공중에 띄워보이게 하는 드라마틱한 상황을 연출시키는 동시에 주간에 전시장 내부의 알맞은 태양광을 유입시킵니다. 이러한 드라마틱한 환경은 단순히 건축적 경험을 넘어서 사물에 새겨진 시간을 또다시 재현하는 공간이 됩니다.
London architects Grimshaw have completed the restoration of historic tea clipper the Cutty Sark,
which reopened to the public today in Greenwich.
The architects have completely repaired the vessel’s deck and rigging,
which were severely damaged in a fire in 2006, and have raised the
entire ship three metres above
its dry dock to create an underground
exhibition hall below.
A glazed structure surrounding the ship forms a roof canopy over this hall,
bridging the space between the ground and the hull.
This structure also integrates an entrance, where a bridge leads across
into the ship
and stairs climb down into the space beneath.
Her Majesty The Queen Reopens Cutty Sark on 25 April 2012
On Wednesday 25 April, Her Majesty The Queen, accompanied by His
The Duke of Edinburgh, officially reopens Cutty Sark,
the world’s last surviving
tea clipper and one of Britain’s greatest
maritime treasures, following an extensive conservation project,
major support totalling £25 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund
The following day (26 April) the ship opens to visitors for the
first time since 2006.
Also, today (13 April 2012) the Trustees of Cutty Sark and the Trustees
of Royal Museums Greenwich are pleased
to announce that following her
completion, the ship will come under the operational management
Lord Sterling, Chairman of both Royal Museums Greenwich and the Cutty
said “Cutty Sark holds a unique place in the heart for the
people of Greenwich,
Great Britain and indeed the rest of the world, and
it is splendid that she is re-joining the London skyline once again.
Cutty Sark is set in the newly landscaped Cutty Sark Gardens, created by
one of our strongest supporters. We are indebted to
those members of the public,
from all over the world, who have
generously contributed to the preservation of this much loved national
We are also deeply appreciative of the many other major
government bodies and foundations that have played a key
role in providing the funds.
In particular, our deep thanks to the
Heritage Lottery Fund who have supported
the project and stood by Cutty
Sark through its difficult times, particularly following the fire,
allocating £25 million of public money raised through the National
Cutty Sark’s re-launch comes in an exceptional year for Greenwich, which
the status of Royal Borough in February, and will have the
eyes of the world upon it during
The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and the
London 2012 Olympic Games this summer.
On 25 June 1957 Her Majesty
opened Cutty Sark to the public for the first time
and we are delighted
that on 25 April, this year, The Queen and HRH Duke of Edinburgh,
has been President of the Cutty Sark Trust since 1951, will return to
re-open the ship.”
Richard Doughty, Director of the Cutty Sark Trust, said: “We have been
privileged to be involved
in conserving Cutty Sark and restoring her to
her key position in the Greenwich World Heritage Site.
Our solution, a
world first, will secure Cutty Sark’s future so that she can continue
inspire many new generations of adventurers at the heart of the Royal
Borough of Greenwich.”
Kevin Fewster, Director of Royal Museums Greenwich, said: “Cutty Sark
is an iconic London landmark
and a much loved part of the Maritime
Greenwich World Heritage Site.
Bringing Cutty Sark into the Royal
Museums Greenwich family strengthens the links between
some of the key
attraction of this unique World Heritage Site and helps us to explore
the extraordinary maritime stories we have to tell.”
The re-launch marks the start of an exciting new chapter in the
extraordinary life of the world famous,
three-masted clipper. It is the
culmination of six years’ work
and one of the most complex conservation
projects ever undertaken on a historic ship.
The project has succeeded
in rescuing Cutty Sark and preventing her collapse,
whilst preserving as
much of the ship’s original fabric from the period of her working life
Moreover, the innovative scheme also provides generations
to come with a new way to engage
with the ship and explore her history.
In a brilliant feat of engineering, Cutty Sark has been raised 11
feet (3.3 meters) into the air,
relieving the keel of the weight of the
ship and preserving her unique shape.
For the first time, visitors can
walk underneath the ship and view the elegant lines of her hull,
revealing the innovative design which was the secret to her success –
her to reach the record-breaking speed of 17 ½ knots (20
mph/32kmph) from Sydney to London.
The space also showcases Cutty Sark’s
extensive collection of over 80 ships’ figureheads,
displayed in its entirety on the site.
The ship’s weather deck and rigging have been painstakingly restored
to their original specification,
with 11 miles (17.5 km) of rigging
supporting the masts. Below deck visitors can explore
Cutty Sark’s rich
and varied history through new interactive exhibitions.
Launched in 1869 from Dumbarton, Scotland, Cutty Sark visited most major
ports around the world.
She carried cargo ranging from the finest teas
to gunpowder, and from whisky to buffalo horns.
Cutty Sark made her name
as the fastest ship of her era during her time in the wool trade.
of the tea clippers that sailed the China Seas during the nineteenth
century lasted for only
a few years and only seven saw the twentieth
By the mid-1920s Cutty Sark was the only one still afloat and
from 1938 became a training ship
for the Incorporated Thames Training
College at Greenhithe.
In December 1954, due to the great efforts of The Duke of Edinburgh,
Cutty Sark came to Greenwich where she became, and remains,
to the great days of sail and to all those who served in the merchant
'Pavilion&Installation' 카테고리의 다른 글
이 글을 공유하기